at first i was angry when people told me there was no point in taking tagalog because it's a dead language. now i understand that they were right, kinda. our future family parties will not consist of aunties and uncles sitting around the table reminiscing in their native tongue about the good ol' days in the philippines. we will still have aunties criticizing the children and each other, but they will now be speaking in english. and their blunt disregard for tact will be ever more apparent to their offspring because they will be able to understand them fully.
our children won't know just enough tagalog to get by, because to get by they won't need to know any. we won't speak it. we can't teach it. our race has fully blended and accepted the unofficial language of the U.S.
i can just feel our unique traits dissipating into thin air.
will this bring us one step closer to equality?
or has the white man succeeded once again in taking something away from the minority?
-which side of the fence do those of us who belong to both sides reside?
No comments:
Post a Comment