lyrics are no longer appealing unless self-loathing. today's pop music is based on putting up a front of how "hard" you are, how much crap you own, how crappy you can treat others [because you got so much money, nobody else matters], or other ridiculous notions. what do our teens have to look up to? finding fast ways to make cash? spending money to look good? and for what?
you're not going to be famous because you can shop with daddy's credit card.
you're not going to save the world from hunger, illiteracy, or poverty with all your material belongings.
nope. we need to guide our youth towards positivity, not this bull shit they promote in pop songs. and this doesn't exclude songs on "hip-hop stations." we all know that shit ain't real hip-hop. it's some beat produced by someone [who most likely has good taste in real hip-hop] for some hack who can't rap or can but proceeds to exploit his/her talent to make money and not a point.
can we go back to the days when Tribe would speak truth, eloquently and with minimal misogyny and foul language? can we listen to Erykah speak her soul and connect on the deepest levels of everyday happenings? Give me just a little taste of Run DMC, BDP, KRS-One, Poor Righteous Teachers, Tupac, B.I.G., Nas, somebody, anybody that can represent this genre of music! I'm sick of being disappointed and having to change the station every minute, searching for something refreshing and always coming up thirsty.
maybe i was just born in the wrong time frame but i refuse to belong to a generation defined by what plays on the radio these days.
No comments:
Post a Comment