Monday, December 6, 2010

"bitch"

girls get a bad rep for things that men simply don't fully understand. my main two points, which somehow ended up being defining characteristics of "bitches": 1) the concept of feminism and 2) menstruation, pre/post.
1) Feminism, as I continue to remind people: is the basic thought that women are people too. This does not insinuate that a feminist is a man hater, lesbian, or radical. A feminist is anyone that knows women do NOT have the same rights as men regardless of what society says, and supports the goal of giving everyone equal opportunities.
2) Menstruation varies for every woman. Some women have terrible cramps and become bed-ridden while others feel happy and continue on with each day as if it were any other day. Periods make some of us crazy, because our hormones are changing levels drastically and some of us are just extra sensitive to this hormonal roller coaster. Now, something that men will never have to feel: lining and plasma dripping [or pouring] out of your body throughout the day for 3-7 days, the insecurity of not knowing if you're leaking, holding in your pee because you don't want to have to change your tampon/pad and also don't want to see that bloody mess, the extreme lack of comfort from wearing a diaper like pad soaked with inner juices, and the constant bloat which makes you self conscious because society says that only skinny people are beautiful. I could go on, but i would then be deemed a ranting bitch when i just want people to realize that it's not necessary to call women bitches. we are not female dogs. we are just typically misunderstood. instead of calling her a bitch next time, try to understand what it is that you do not see eye to eye on- or if you must- call her what she really is, don't just use a generic slur that truly does not make sense for the majority of contexts it's used in.

1 comment:

  1. I love this post. Everything you said holds meaning, and its all said so eloquently!

    ReplyDelete